Not Enough Lesbian Content (h/t Hannah Gadsby)

Sue Kerr
7 min readNov 2, 2019

One of our spokespeople last year… Self-appointed. One of our spokespeople approached me straight after one of my shows to give me a bit of feedback, and that’s my favorite time for feedback. Straight after a show? Yes, please! That is when my skin is at its thickest. The feedback? Apparently, she said, “I was very disappointed in your show this year, Hannah. I just don’t think there was enough lesbian content.” I’d been on stage the whole time. I didn’t… even straighten up halfway through, you know?
Hannah Gadsby, Nanette

I get this. Oh, do I get this. I get comments, email, whispers, tweets, even AMPLIFY responses that tell me my blog is not lesbian enough. As if I’ve tricked your typical lesbian blog reader into clicking to read about Pittsburgh lesbians and discovering – racial justice content.Or Q&A’s with LGBTQ people who do not identify as lesbians. Or a cat food drive. Well maybe that one can slide a little bit. But why so many posts about municipal government?
“I thought this was for lesbians” they write to me.

Nope, sorry, we are corresponding AS lesbians not solely TO lesbians and so sorry you won’t get that 30 seconds of your life back. BECAUSE WE HAVE OTHER THOUGHTS than just lezzing all day long.
I don’t think I’ve even used the term ‘lezzing’ before. Chalk that up to Nanette, I guess.

--

--

Sue Kerr

I blog @ pghlesbian.com & tweet @pghlesbian24 GLAAD named us OUTstanding Blog in 2022 & 2019 National Media Awards Also I ❤soaps, cats, dogs & genealogy She/Her